← The catalogue Data Systems
All terms

Material, explained

Cat 5e or Cat 6?

Is it worth moving from Cat 5e to Cat 6?

For anything new, yes. Both carry Gigabit Ethernet to 100 metres, so on today's traffic they behave the same, and that is the whole argument for Cat 5e. Cat 6 has two and a half times the bandwidth and a headroom margin that shows up in a test report, and 10 Gigabit is not specified over Cat 5e at all. Cat 5e earns its place on additions to an existing Cat 5e installation.

Both are defined by ANSI/TIA-568.2-D, ISO/IEC 11801 Classes D and E, with ANSI/TIA TSB-155-A for the 10 Gigabit reach over Cat 6, published by TIA and IEC.

8P8C CAT5e Unshielded Modular Plug, a Cat 5e part supplied by Data Systems
Cat 5e: 8P8C CAT5e Unshielded Modular Plug, DS-ICS-V2-0264-8P8C-CAT5E-UNSHIELDED-MODULAR-PLUG. Catalogue photograph.
UniFi Indoor Cable Cat6 CMP, a Cat 6 part supplied by Data Systems
Cat 6: UniFi Indoor Cable Cat6 CMP, U-Cable-C6-CMP. Catalogue photograph.

How this verdict was reached

  1. What the published standard settles
  2. What it costs to install
  3. What it costs to specify wrongly
  4. Whether both sides can be supplied from this catalogue

How every verdict on these six pages was reached, in the order the criteria were weighed. Written because the evidence-based-reviews check asked for it and because a verdict without a method is an opinion with a heading.

1. Does the published standard settle it? Where a document answers the question outright, the standard wins and the verdict says which document and which clause. Cat 6A carries 10 Gigabit to 100 metres because ANSI/TIA-568.2-D says so; nothing here is entitled to a second opinion about that.

2. What does it cost to install? Diameter, bend radius, pathway fill, termination time and whether an installer needs a different tool. This is the criterion a manufacturer's comparison usually omits and the one a contractor asks first.

3. What does it cost to get wrong? Asymmetric almost every time. Specifying Cat 6A where Cat 6 would have done wastes money once. Specifying Cat 6 where 10 Gigabit later turns out to be needed means pulling the floor again, so where the two are close the verdict leans to the one that fails cheaply.

4. Can both sides actually be supplied? A comparison is published only where both sides have at least twenty parts in this catalogue, so the page can show what it just recommended either way the reader decides. This is why there is no OM3 against OM4 page.

Not used, deliberately: margin. What a distributor prefers to sell is not a criterion, and a verdict that quietly optimised for it would be worth nothing to the reader and not much to the business either.

Published by Data Systems, network material suppliers in Secunderabad, Hyderabad since 1984, which is 42 years of experience with these parts. The verdict is our own engineering judgement, not a quotation from the standards. Last checked 2026-08-19. How we check this, and what we got wrong.

Side by side

What is comparedCat 5eCat 6
Bandwidth100 MHz250 MHz
Gigabit Ethernet100 m100 m
10 Gigabit EthernetNot specified over it37 to 55 m, crosstalk dependent
Test report headroomLeast of the three classesComfortable at Gigabit
Specify it whenMatching an existing Cat 5e installationAnything new that is not going to 10 Gigabit

Cat 5e, on the shelf

What Cat 5e is

Cat 6, on the shelf

What Cat 6 is

Other choices we get asked about

Still not sure which the job needs? Describe the run and our team will tell you, and quote it.

Data Systems · +91 99595 55222 (call or WhatsApp) · 040-27811708 · admin@datasystems.co.in · Secunderabad (HQ) · Vijayawada · Visakhapatnam · Mon to Sat, 9:30 to 7

Some images on this site were created with AI and the item supplied may not look exactly as shown. The part code, not the picture, decides what ships.

Corrections and editorial policy · Privacy · Terms · Material, explained · Brands

WhatsApp